That Time I went on the Crazy Days and Nights Podcast

Recently I had the chance to go on the Crazy Days and Nights Podcast, and co-host the show with everyone's favorite 300-pound, six-time divorced Entertainment Lawyer otherwise known as Enty.

I've been a subscriber to the CDAN podcast for close to its inception, I think. But the man and his cohorts pump out content like nobody's business. When I was in Chile on production and working 15-16 hour days I missed quite a few, and found myself having to double back when I got stateside.

What interests me about the podcast (and his blog) isn't always so much about the gossip, especially when it comes to reality shows; there's only so much entertainment content I can consume in one day, and I'm pretty choosy about it. The reason I got hooked was two fold. Namely, the notion that there's such a pervasive and sinister underbelly across Los Angeles (and beyond) that makes any good Raymond Chandler novel seem like mere fantasy. And secondly, the idea that somewhere out there someone is actually uncovering truth, albeit in blind item and reveal formats.

Of course not all of it is true as the legal disclaimer helpfully (or unhelpfully) provides at the bottom of the blog.But even that is so intriguing It's that cheeky wink. Disclaimer in air quotes. It makes you question how much of it is real, how much is fake, or the other way around.

When I finished writing the first draft of New Roman Times I shared it with Camper Van Beethoven's violinist Jonathan Segel who was struck by the binary nature of the book. This duality struck with me, long after I finished it. I began seeing it everywhere as far as media was concerned.

In some ways it's not that there's two sides to every story. It may be there are multiple sides to the story, or that the story is in itself flawed because there is no story, only sides. And of course, those sides come at you so quickly thanks to social media, which is also known to control the sides, depending on the narrative.

It was fun going on Enty's podcast to discuss the book as well as my run-ins with celebrity throughout my advertising career. I felt like one of those living algorithms. If you like this, then you might like this.

What struck me most was we might have sent half a dozen emails to coordinate a time, and then spoke for three minutes before we started recording, but you wouldn't have known it from the way it sounded. At least I don't think so.

Hopefully it got some people interested enough to check out the book if only because I believe it's a relevant story that was worth telling. Maybe some people enjoyed a POV from the ad world, which often intersects with Hollywood and the famous. And maybe some people discovered or rediscovered Camper Van Beethoven as a result. if any of those happened, it woudl be a win.

There are worse ways to spend a Wednesday afternoon.