Fall in the mountains

The evergreens don't change but here and there are dots of yellow and brown. It's rained twice this week, and I've missed the rain since it never rains, and I'm close to becoming one of those poeople who say "we needed it," when the sky opens up.

Today was particularly foggy and I wish I had brighter headlights The fog races along the lake at night, blowing me into the grocery store or into the house when I return. Outside is pitch black nothingness. No stars, only a big heavy blanket and silence.

The weather has dropped thirty degrees. Officially coat weather, maybe even hats. I wonder how ong it will take for my blood to thicken again now that I'm in a climate with four seasons.

A work mate's father passed away this week. There is never a good time ot lose a parent but when it happens when you have a grown up job it's even more difficult. Especially in advertising where you are never not working.

I am looking forward to Thanksgiving. It will be nice to not go anywhere except for hiking, or do anything except read and cook and sleep.