Put your hand in the hand

While driving around my new home in Tennessee a song came on I haven't heard in a long time. I didn't even realize it was in my iTunes and have no idea how it got there. But I was so struck by it, I fell down a rabbit hole listening to as many covers as possible.

I'm talking of course about "Put your hand in the hand." Anne Murray covered it first.

But Canadian band Ocean is far superior not the least of which because one of the band members was co-writer.

It was also covered by a bunch of other singers including Johnny Cash, Loretta Lynn, Joan Baez, Bing Crosby and Elvis. But for me, Ocean's version is the definitive version.

It also got me thinking about the lyrics "Put your hand in the hand of the man who stilled the water." In the Bible, God causes and then ends a flood, parts the Red Sea and then Jesus stills the seas (as referenced in the song) walks on water and even if we're stretching the point, turns water into wine. It's interesting that water is such a fixture in the Bible, so say nothing of the brook that dries up when Elijah is meant to leave as well as other droughts, as well as the still waters in Psalm 23 that David is meant to lay down beside.

I guess the point is that Jesus, like water is life.

And Ocean is a great Canadian one hit wonder.